web statistics
Skip to main content

Harold Morton Landon Translation Award Submissions Open

21 October 2023

Submissions for The Academy of American Poets' Harold Morton Landon Translation Award are open until February 15th, 2024. The winning translator receives $1000. This year's judge is Belarusian poet Valzhyna Mort. Last year's winner was Stephanie McCarter for her new translation of Ovid's Metamorphoses. 

Ancient and medieval epics seem to be a good bet for this award: Robert Fitzgerland was the first winner, in 1976, for his translation of Homer's Iliad, winning a second time in 1984 for his Odyssey. Translations of Hesiod, Horace, Virgil, Dante, Beowulf, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Meng Jiao, Li Po and even a previous version of Ovid have all won the prize in its nearly 50-year history. 

Latest Articles

Louise Glück, 1943-2023

Renowed American poet Louise Glück passed away on October 13th after a battle with cancer. S...